Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Aldershot, Farnham and District AC

Select a Page:
Scroll to top


Hants/Surrey Cross Country Championships

Mike Neighbour

Georgie Bruinvels won the senior women’s race and led Aldershot, Farnham & District to team gold in the Surrey cross country championships at Croydon on Saturday. She had won on her last appearance at this event, two years ago, and beat Emily Wicks, another AFD runner to have won the title twice, into second.  Laura Gent, sixth, and Ruth Haynes, ninth, formed the other half of the victorious team.

The under-20 and u17 women ran together but it was an athlete from the younger age-group, AFD’s Niamh Brown, who won by over a minute.  Gabi Eglen was the u20s’ bronze medallist and Tabitha Bowden, an u17 in twelfth overall, completed the club’s trio that took second in the combined team event.
The u20 and u17 men also ran together but were separated for team awards where AFD won the u20s’ section.  Gus Cockle took individual silver ten seconds behind Croydon’s Peter Chambers who competed for Great Britain in the junior race at last month’s European championships.  George Gathercole was the individual bronze medallist, one ahead of Jack Rowe who completed AFD’s scoring quartet.  Nathan Gibson, sixth, won the u17s’ category.
Luke van Oudtshoorn triumphed by two seconds over Herne Hill’s Oscar Millard, reversing the positions from the South of England inter-counties meeting three weeks earlier, and led AFD to team silver.  Josh Foreman was seventh, Eoin Canning sixteenth and Charlie Kershaw twenty-third.
The club was also second in the u15 girls’ competition, led by individual bronze medallist Eugenie Cockle.  Katriona Brown was ninth, Sammy Bonny sixteenth and Lucy Wagstaff eighteenth.  The u15 boys took third with Ollie Percival, ninth, Will Brockman, twenty-first, Marcus Shantry, twenty-second, and Guy Tucker twenty-seventh.
There were two sets silver medals for AFD teams in the Hampshire championships, which took place at Eastleigh on the same day. The u15 girls were led home by Tilly Horton who was the individual bronze medallist behind Josie Czura (City of Portsmouth) and Maddie Deadman (Basingstoke & Mid Hants), second and third in last season’s Schools International.  The other members of AFD’s team were Maisie Grice, seventh, Lizzie Squibbs, eighth, and Katie Standen, twenty-seventh.
Number 7The other silver medallists for the club were the senior men.  Richard Allen, u17s champion only two years ago, came fifth and was backed up by Toby Smith, eleventh, Harrison Curling, eighteenth, Scott Smith-Bannister, twentieth (second veteran and first over-50), Will Davies, twenty-third, and Darren Symes, thirty-sixth.
Number 3
Matt Arnold won the u20 men’s race by almost a minute from Southampton’s Stephen Simpson who was also runner-up last season.  AFD had the runners-up in the senior women’s event (Louise Small), and u20 women’s (Carla Plowden-Roberts).  There were bronze medals for Robbie Coupland (u15 boys) and Theo Doran (u13 boys).