Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

Aldershot, Farnham and District AC

Select a Page:
Scroll to top


AFD Dominate Southern Road Relays

AFD Dominate Southern Road Relays
Mike Neighbour

Aldershot Farnham & District’s senior men retained their South of England 6-stage road relay running title at Crystal Palace on Sunday. AFD took the lead on the third leg with Gus Cockle who had set off in sixth after legs by Josh Grace and Luke Prior. Ricky Harvie, Joe Morwood and Ellis Cross ensured that the club kept its lead until the finish which was reached forty seconds before silver medallists Serpentine.

AFD’s other gold medallists were the under-17 women in their race over three legs. Ruby Horton was fifth on the opener before Rachel Gillett promoted them to third. Pippa Roessler clocked the third fastest time of the competition as she caught Joanne Miranda of Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers near the end for a three-second margin of victory.

AFD’s u17 men were runners up in their four-stage event. Charlie Wagstaff led home the athletes on the first leg with what turned out to be the second quickest time overall. Woody Jerome kept the lead on the second leg but Harry Hyde was overtaken by Windsor Slough Eton & Hounslow’s Sam Hodgson and Ryan Martin was unable to catch Will Barnicoat because the latter anchored WSEH to their win with the quickest time overall.

Emily Wicks opened for AFD’s bronze-medal side in the senior women’s 4 stage championship, finishing sixth. Niamh Brown moved up to third and then Laura Gent promoted the team to second. Both AFD’s Lauren Hall and Jess Gibbons, who had gone out in the lead for Reading, were passed by Holly Archer who anchored Cambridge & Coleridge to the gold medals with the fastest individual time of the day.

AFD claimed a set of silver medals behind Brighton & Hove in the relay for men over 50. Paul Gaylor, Koji Miyazaki and Scott Smith-Bannister were anchored by Mark Symes who earlier in the month had won the European Masters 1500 metres title in this age group.